Players from Durham and Killingworth Honored at Xavier Football Championship Banquet

The Falcons finished the season 13-0 and won the state title in December.


More than 350 people attended a banquet on Sunday, March 11, to honor Xavier High School's 2011 State Championship football team at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Cromwell. All players and coaches were presented with a championship ring that was provided through the generosity of donors and sponsors for this special event.

Larry McHugh, President of the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce and Xavier's first football coach (1963 – 1983), was the Master of Ceremonies for the event. Middletown Mayor Dan Drew presented the team with a Proclamation from the City and 9th District State Senator Paul Doyle offered congratulations from the State of Connecticut.

Headmaster Brother Brian Davis, C.F.X. offered welcoming remarks. Mercy High School Principal Sister Mary McCarthy, RSM led the assembled in opening and closing prayers. Director of Athletics Tony Jaskot recognized all the coaches and players for the teams second consecutive undefeated season (13 – 0).

Head Coach Sean Marinan also thanked and recognized the cheerleaders from Mercy High School for their continued support during games. Mercy has provided cheerleaders for Xavier since the two schools were initially founded in 1963.

The banquet was also the opportunity for Coach Marinan to present the Football Special Awards for the season. The players are listed with their graduation year and town of residence.

Larry McHugh Senior leadership Award – To the senior player that has put the needs of the team first and his personal goals second. Who has provided leadership on and off the field by the example of his actions, effort and play: Sean Marinan Jr. '12 (Higganum)

Most Valuable Player for the Defense: Ryan Jacobucci '12 (Portland)

Most Valuable Players for the Offense: Pat D’Amato '12 (Wethersfield) & Mike Mastroianni '12 (Durham)

Most Improved – To the player who has shown the greatest improvement in his play/effort since the previous season: Ryan Craig '12 (Glastonbury)

Tony Jaskot Champion of the Year Award - the player whose effort in games and or practice has been an essential reason for the success of the team; these efforts have usually gone unnoticed by the fans, media and others outside the team.: Andrew Vadasz '12 (Middletown)

Kevin Holder Unsung Hero Award - the players whose unselfish effort and play was responsible for the success of the team, usually their role in the success of the team has been over looked by the media, fans and others outside the team: Sean DiFilippo '12 (Killingworth) & Jake Whalen '12 (Durham)

Custom Carpet Spirit, Hustle & Desire Award - the player whose passion and excitement for the game has been exemplified in their positive, never say die attitude, constant hustle and unselfish desire to help the team: Jovan Santos-Knox '12 (Middletown)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »