.

Patch's Poll: Should Countries Be Allowed to 'Ban' Certain Dog Breeds?

It's illegal to own a pit bull in Northern Ireland and the United Kingdom, a central point in a recent controversy in which the Belfast City Council put down a dog that resembled that breed.

A 7-year-old dog named Lennox, who authorities in Northern Ireland impounded two years ago due to concerns of it being a "danger to the public," was put down last week.

According to the BBC, the City Council in Belfast, where the dog was seized, had been embroiled in a two-year dispute over the ability to put the dog to sleep.

Why was the dog a presumed threat? , which is an illegal dog in the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland and banned in that country.

The BBC reported that once the council received confirmation that it was able to put the animal down, that council members began getting death threats about the proposal. According to the Huffington Post, Lennox inspired supporters and detractors on both sides of the Atlantic, with many online campaigns geared toward saving the animal.

So, Patch readers, we’re curious to hear your reactions to this fact that a specific dog breed is deemed illegal in a country. Do you agree with or disagree with this?

Should towns, states or countries be allowed to "ban" certain dog breeds, like pit bulls? Take our poll and share your thoughts in the comments.

Don Camden July 17, 2012 at 02:59 PM
A dog is only as good as it's owner.
Thomas Johnson July 17, 2012 at 05:46 PM
California will be the next nanny state to tell it's taxpayers what's good for them...
steve anastasio July 17, 2012 at 06:11 PM
a dog will only be aggressive for the most part if its raised to be that way.
DGC3 July 17, 2012 at 09:23 PM
Who do we think we are to tell a foreign country how to manage their dog laws?
EH Parent July 18, 2012 at 03:05 AM
I've never liked pit bulls. I cringe when I see one. There are certain breeds of dogs that are naturally aggressive. I know many will disagree but its the truth.
Pro Death July 18, 2012 at 12:08 PM
@judy joyce, I would describe them more as outgoing, energetic and fearless. City dogs can be aggressive but not naturally. A direct result of their owners and up bringing.
EH Parent July 18, 2012 at 08:58 PM
Well, we all have opinions and I respect yours even though I totally disagree. I have heard too many horror stories about those dogs and many times it has nothing to do with the owners at all.
Pro Death July 19, 2012 at 03:39 PM
Judy, It's not an opinion it's fact. Do some research on the breed, you will learn a lot. I had many friend that were sceptical when I rescued my first Pit, now they want to take her for their own. They fell in love.
Mickey July 19, 2012 at 04:00 PM
You've heard too many stories.... Think of the stories you simply didn't hear. If a dog bite story involved something other than a pit bull you just didn't hear it. Years ago it was true for Doberman's, and at one time Rottweilers- its just the breed of the day. Dog breeds are like people - not all Italians are a certain way- not all Polish are the same... not even all Shepards make good police dogs...
EH Parent July 20, 2012 at 03:42 AM
Really, I'm not changing my opinion based on what anyone says. I just do not like them and never will. I don't like any of the aggressive dog breeds.
Pro Death July 20, 2012 at 11:27 AM
Prejudice Judy?): preconceived judgment or opinion (2): an adverse opinion or leaning formed without just grounds or before sufficient knowledge
EH Parent July 20, 2012 at 02:00 PM
You can like them all you want Pro. You can like pickles and I don't. You can like baked beans and I don't. You can like science fiction movies and I don't. Its a free country. Enough said about this! If other people like something I don't like that is fine, but I guess that is not fine with you. Nothing I say is preconceived. It is based on facts from good people I've known personally and experienced it first hand. Based on news articles, etc., etc. Subject closed. Have as many pits as you want and enjoy them. I will not. Period.
Pro Death July 20, 2012 at 05:19 PM
Judy, the point is it seems like you don't like pickles anymore because someone told you that they ate a bad one once and got sick so they and you will never ever eat a pickle again. So you are condemning all pickles because of one bad one, which would be unfair to all the good pickles out there.
Robin Hood August 29, 2012 at 03:40 PM
A ban on arrogant people would be all that's required. Especially those that refuse to keep their pets on a leash, especially when hiking. The guy that claimed his dog was attacked by a bear?? off leash and way ahead of him, if the dog was on leash it never would have happened. If your dog is off leash you are responsible for all legal woes, all of them, even is a dog on leash attacks your dog, you were not in control of your dog. Irresponsible arrogant people are the problem, not the breed.
Nancy J. November 28, 2012 at 07:10 AM
Well, hey there Robin Hood! Good to see you saying something that makes sense for once! ...and home run!! I agree with you. We have people in our town that walk on a busy road without a leash. It only takes one moment by a car or another dog off a leash! Why are people being SO ignorant!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something