.

Letter to the Editor: Iino, Annino and Dudek 'Right for the Job'

Killingworth resident: Candidates have the town’s best interest at heart.

I’m proud to say I’ve been a member of the Killingworth community as a resident and business person for 33 years.  I’ve always voted for the people I’ve thought were the most qualified for their positions, whether they were Republican, Democrat, or Independent. My feeling is that a large number of people in Killingworth also do the same. That’s what makes Killingworth different from many other towns.

After speaking with a number of the candidates and reading much of their commentary from various sources, I decided that the 3 best people to serve as Selectmen for the next two years would be Cathy Iino, Lou Annino Jr. and Fred Dudek. The other candidates seem to be well intentioned, but I think they are not right for the job at this time.

I think that Cathy, Lou, and Fred have shown over the years, through their service to the community and involvement in town affairs, that they have the town’s best interest at heart.

As a member of the Parmelee Farm Steering Committee since its inception, and its chairman for the past two years, I have had the opportunity to work with Cathy on the many aspects of developing a Master Plan for the future of this wonderful piece of town property.  Cathy is one of the most involved and visible First Selectmen I’ve seen in our town for many years. She has attended many of our meetings and has shown a strong interest in seeing how the Parmelee Farm project is progressing. Cathy has been a volunteer at many of our farm clean-up days, and has been a big help in working with our committee to identify grants for which the Farm might qualify. She has been very helpful to our committee in reviewing the grants that have been applied for, and in some cases, helped to write them.  I know she also attends many of the other town’s committee meetings, listening, and staying in touch.  In my many conversations with Cathy, I know she does all she can to make Killingworth a better community for all of us to live in.  Based on these, and many of her other fine attributes, I think Cathy Iino is the best person to guide Killingworth for another two years.

Another candidate that I have known for many years, (23), and have worked with on many projects, is John McMahon. He has my utmost respect.  As Chairman of the Board of Finance, he has been an insightful leader and has shown a genuine concern for the financial stability of our town.  I know that John’s number one priority is to make Killingworth a better place for all of us, and to make sure the finances are spent in the best possible way for all the townspeople.  I think if you talked to many of the members of the Board of Finance and other residents, they would agree, that John is the right person for the job and deserves our support for another term on the BOF.

Bruce Dodson and Charlie Martens are two other candidates who deserve reelection.  For over 20 years we have volunteered on many community projects to benefit the citizens of Killingworth.  They are hard workers and men of integrity who want only the best for our town.

I hope that all the voters come out and make their voices known on Tuesday Nov.8th.  Vote for people that you think are the most qualified, for these positions, and NO, I don’t think, “It’s time for a change”.

In my opinion, it’s time to vote for people who are willing to bring residents together, in a positive way, not divide them.

Tim Gannon
Killingworth

Karen Milano November 06, 2011 at 02:11 PM
They've got my vote!
Charlie Deal November 06, 2011 at 04:24 PM
gag me now
Bill Romero November 06, 2011 at 05:27 PM
We can not afford Ms. Iino's leadership. “Killingworth is a great community, we need to fight to keep it affordable for “all of our futures.” Maybe the Tim Gannons and Ed Ricciutis of Killingworth can afford higher taxes and maybe they can afford to endorse their old friend. There are many in Killingworth who can not afford for us to continue do “nothing” and watch our taxes go up further. - President Obama has forced health care mandates onto the States and onto small businesses. Ms. Iino gave $2,000 to the Obama campaign September 9, 2008. - Governor Malloy passed numerous tax increases on businesses in CT that have been passed onto us. Ms. Iino endorsed Governor Malloy with the Democrat Women’s leadership June 4, 2010. - Ms. Iino did not attend or give input to RSD #17 Budget meetings for 2011. RSD#17 increased its budget 1.4%. - Our Mill rate increase resulted in an approximate 8% increase in your taxes. - Ms. Iino attempted to pass an ordinance to further limit your individual rights by trying to regulate outdoor wood burning furnaces. Ms. Iino has no idea how many people are heating their homes with these furnaces. - Ms. Iino supports the Chatham Health Dist. to serve as our Health Director that would add more costly bureaucracy. - Ms. Iino had nothing to do with the writing of the STEAP grant for Parmelee, that she tried to take credit for. I will provide leadership to preserve Killingworth, to try to keep it affordable for "us all."
Susan Dean November 06, 2011 at 06:11 PM
I admire Bill Romero's energy in seeking the First Selectperson's position. I have enjoyed many conversations with this affable person. However, he told me personally that his boss would allow him to work half-time if he were to be elected First Selectman. As a single taxpayer I can't afford to pay the full salary, 50% insurance buy back, plus any other benefits, to someone working halftime. This job is even more than full-time. The weather emergencies, school functions, town events, town projects, etc. deserve a fully dedicated person at the helm. Though I have not always agreed with Cathy, I know what to expect from her. She is willing to reassess, to alter procedures, to seek better solutions, and to try and find ways to accomplish projects to better our lives in this town. At this time, I would not be comfortable changing the leadership in Killingworth.
Tim Gannon November 06, 2011 at 06:32 PM
Bill, I don't enjoy paying higher taxes any more than the rest of out townspeople. It's my understanding that the main reason that the taxes increased this year was that the school budget increased, and that the municipal budget was actually lower. If the taxpayers vote to approve the school budget, then the town has come up with money, and the BOF as to set the new mill rate. I don't think there is any choice other than to vote down the budget in the first place. In regards to endorsing "Old Friends". My recommendations are based on knowing these folks as good people, knowing what they stand for, seeing them perform their jobs, and knowing their commitment to our town though their volunteer activities. Bill, I'm sure you are a good person, and have the town's best interest in mind, but I just haven't seen the involvement yet in volunteer work.Things like serving on committees and organizations, that I think are important in a small town like ours. By taking part in these activities, people get to know you, see how you operate, and are able to evaluate you as a person and a leader. I believe it's called "putting your time in". After doing this for awhile, people will have a better idea of what you are all about and how you preform. The people I have recommended are people I have worked with and know, and have put in their time. I'm sure as I get to know you better, then I could make a similar recommendation in the future. I look forward to that opportunity.
Bill Romero November 06, 2011 at 07:48 PM
Ms. Iino's poor performance is OK based on the fact that you know her? It is OK that Ms. Iino did not take the initiative to participate in RSD #17 budget meetings where $17million of our money gets spent just because you know her? Ms. Dean, Shame on you for misleading the people. Yes, I have told you on two occasions that I would change my current job to a "part-time status". What you neglect to say is that I would work "full-time" as 1st Selectman. Shame on you again for saying I would "accept the health insurance buy-back". I emphatically have said "I will not accept it." Our taxes went up, Ms. Iino accepted a "PAY INCREASE", and you say it is OK because you know her. I will be 200% committed to Killingworth and the job of 1st Selectman. If you don't like my results after 2 yeasrs, feel free to vote me out. I guarantee my results will be better than Ms. Iino's. Please vote for Bill Romero - Republican for 1st Selectman
Tim Gannon November 06, 2011 at 10:16 PM
Bill, Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and mine is just different than yours, at this point in time. My thinking is that Cathy Iino and Fred Dudek have done a good job as Selectmen, and deserve to be re-elected. I'm not debating that you might be a good person for the job in future years. Also, based on his years of service to the town on the Planning and Zoning Commission, it's my opinion that Lou Annino Jr. is the best qualified person to be the other selectman. I think Jeff is a good person, but I'd like to see a little more of a track record of his work in town. So at this point, I'd have to say a vote for Cathy Iino, Fred Dudek, and Lou Annio Jr. for selectmen, would be the best choice!
Bill Romero November 07, 2011 at 01:56 AM
Mr. Gannon, "You" have not disputed the facts I have presented. "You" should stop mis-directing the discussion and admit that Killingworth needs a new 1st Selectman. I expected more from you, as a Community leader, regarding disputing or producing facts in regards to Ms. Iino's poor performance. "You" have not been able to offer any "concrete" reason or evidence to the contrary, other than opinions you have of your friend, versus the facts of her record as 1st Selectman. You are absolutely entitled to "your" opinion of your friend Ms. Iino, despite your inability to dispute, with evidence, Ms. Iino's poor performance as 1st Selectman. Killingworth needs new leadership. New leadership that will work with our experienced leaders, who understand that we have to now think about the challenges our current economic environment has forced upon us. I will provide this leadership as your 1st Selectman. I want to preserve what we have now, and with the vision of keeping living in Killingworth affordable for our future. Bill Romero - Republican for 1st Selectman - Killingworth
Tim Gannon November 07, 2011 at 05:11 AM
Mr. Romero. I have said that I base my opinion on what the candidates, have shown in regards to their past performance, and what they have done to make Killingworth a better place to live. To the best of my knowledge , all of the candidates I have recommended, have served Killingworth, in various positions, and have tried to be a positive infunence for Killingworth's future. I think their roles have been pretty obvious to Killingworth, residents. I'm hoping you can inform me and the other voters, of the various positions in town groups, committee's,& etc, or things that you have done, to make our town a better place to live. After living here for 33 years, it's my belief that the people of Killingworth vote for the most qualified candidates, and those that have shown a willingness to be involved in various positive ways for their community. This is whether they are Republican, Democrat, or independent.
Bill Romero November 07, 2011 at 10:48 AM
Mr. Gannon, i have said you are entitled to you opinion. Again, you do no dispute Ms. Iino's poor record of performance. You also suggest that if you live in the Community for many years and serve on different Community groups, you are then entitled to run for public office and you are excused from doing a poor job...you are entitled to your opinion. Bill Romero for 1st Selectman - Killingworth
Karen Milano November 07, 2011 at 11:32 AM
Mr. Romero - Cathy Iino has ~earned~ the support of Tim Gannon and Ed Ricciuti, and the idea that their estimation of her contributions to this town is colored by an “old” relationship is simply wrong and insulting to these fine men. Men who have PROVED their allegience to the welfare of this community time and time again. . For the record - I am not an OLD FRIEND of Ms. Iino.. I am a 25 year resident of Killingworth . What I know from EXPERIENCE is that in the past few years, handed the reins in a very difficult economy and through several natural disasters, I have never seen a Selectman or woman more involved with and concerned for her community. There has not been a meeting my husband or I have attended that Ms. Iino wasn't present. Much has been accomplished in the past few years and your reference to Poor job performance is unfounded. Ms. Iino listens to ALL SIDES of an issue... and I know this because we have not always entered her office to discuss an issue where we stand on the same side. She takes the time to consider the impact in every direction. I have found her to be unbiased and fair. If she doesn't have all the information on a given subject, she goes out and does research and LOOKS for the correct information so that she can make informed decisions. This is much more than I can say for other candidates in what has turned into an ugly, name calling, fact-assaulting campaign. Quite frankly, I'm surprised you've joined the ranks.
Bill Romero November 07, 2011 at 11:52 AM
Ms. Milano, I have not personally insulted either of these men. However, you are personally attacking me and falsely accusing me. It's politics and I understand. Many believe it is time for new leadership for Killingworth, if we want to keep Killingworth affordable for everyone in the future. We will see how Ms. Iino's poor performance record holds up on Election Day. Bill Romero for 1st Selectman - Killingworth
Karen Milano November 07, 2011 at 11:56 AM
PS... While my mother. Ms. Amoia, serves on the Democratic Town Committee and she and I have shared a 46 year friendship... we do not necessarily share the same political views. You might try to grasp at that straw in response to my comment, so I thought I'd clear that up right away. The bottom line is, my experience with Ms. Iino has been that she is doing a good job at a very difficult time in our history. If we can't have a political discussion in a small town like Killingworth without slander, nastyness and outright lies.. then what hope is there for the rest of the country. Lets all rise above. Please.
Kathleen Amoia November 07, 2011 at 01:00 PM
Wouldn't a kumbaya moment go well with a cup of coffee right about now? Just a thought. Let's all just take a deep breath, remember how we learned to play in the sandbox in kindergarten and go to the polls tomorrow and settle this the democratic way, by voting.
Tim Withington November 07, 2011 at 01:24 PM
Part #1 It is clear that he has taken his political posture from fellow right wing folks because his disinformation is eerily familiar. Mr. Romero insists that we should exchange a thoughtful, approachable considerate, highly educated First Selectman like Cathy Iino for a part time business manager, risk management consultant and salesman. Mr. Romero’s caricature like view of Killingworth is clear in his Hockey Rink proposal as well as his utter lack of involvement in community affairs. I am a Deputy Director of Emergency Management and the Local Emergency Planning Commissioner. I am a Paramedic and volunteer for Killingworth Ambulance and a member of CT-1 DMAT. I have responded to disasters in the Gulf and elsewhere in our country. I have seen with my own eyes the stellar performance of Cathy Iino.
Tim Withington November 07, 2011 at 01:25 PM
Part #2 While Cathy Iino stayed up all night at the Emergency Shelter during Hurricane Irene, seamlessly implementing the towns Emergency plan, major candidates on Mr. Romero’s ticket did not even know that Killingworth had an emergency plan. Cathy responded seamlessly to both Hurricane Irene and the Fall Nor’easter because of the fact that she has taken the time to learn the towns emergency plan, to participate in emergency functions, and to immerse herself in community affairs. Cathy’s view of Killingworth is a multidimensional one that has been developed not with some marketing strategy but by listening to every citizen and honesty considering their point of view. Mr. Romero would like to repeat his marketing strategy over and over in the hope that the good people of Killingworth will believe it. Mr. Romero, the people of Killingworth are smarter than that.
Tim Gannon November 08, 2011 at 01:56 PM
Please make the effort to go and Vote. Please consider these 3 candidates to lead Killingworth for the next 2 years!
just joe November 08, 2011 at 07:13 PM
...just voted!!! .....when this country, including us, seems to be going down a road of not our choosing, I guess voting TO HOLD THE LINE was the best choice I could make. PS....I have noted that bios with stated qualifications for the jobs the candidates wish to hold BE REQUIRED of all candidates who will be on the ballot. I am not the most avid follower of local pollitics, but I can't vote for anybody in particular because the are a Democrat, a Republican, or for that matter, unaffiliated with any major party......................if I have no informartion on them and what makes them qualified enough for the job, I simply skip them.(now, let's get those signs down, winners and losers!!!)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something